Bodies of the Heavens, cosmological phenomenon I have seen in my lifetime

halebopp1997

I’ve been very fortunate to witness quite a few astronomical/cosmological phenomenon in my life.

The first major, massive space phenomena, was witnessing Comet Hale-Bopp in the skies above Sacramento, April of 1997. Absolutely amazing and a once-in-a-lifetime event.

The next big event, was one of my own. In my book, I described birthing a tiny tiny little star of light/love/hope in my heart. That star ignited at the end of the year 2000.

Flash-forward twelve years, and I witnessed The Transit of Venus as the second planet, Venus, passed in front of the face of our Sun, in 2012

venusintransit

In February of 2013, I recorded a lovely evening sunset, February 17, 2013, the night of a near-Earth asteroid flyby.

In July of 2014, during a trip to Sacramento, and while parked in a large mall parking lot, I witnessed a super rare event, the first of Three Super Moons. I personally saw a reddish/orange massive moonrise, dubbed a “blood moon”.

bloodsupermoon

In August 0f 2014, while at home in San Francisco, I observed the second Super Full Moon from the balcony of the apartment.

In September of 2014, I witnessed from several points around San Francisco,  the Third Super Full Moon.

In October of 2014, while in the Castro District of San Francisco, in the early hours before dawn, I witnessed a full Lunar Eclipse.

In the last two years, I was also fortunate enough to observe two three major meteorites. Each flashed through part of the visible color spectrum, coming in green in hue, and burning towards pink before they winked out.

The first I saw at my home last year, late summer (2014) in the predawn hours, while skywatching on my balconey. The second, was late in the evening, also in late summer (2015) and I saw a similar meteorite, almost blueish, then green, then pink, from Highlands Cemetery.

12-12-2015 update: at roughly 6:00 am, while having a cup of coffee and waiting and watching for the sunrise, I witnessed another big bright green meteorite pass across the face of the planet Venus. One of the Geminids, I think.

And the last night I was at Highlands Cemetery, two stars exploded over my head after dark.

About Jane

Ms. Alexander. author, activist, artist
This entry was posted in astronomy, cosmology, star watching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

