I have a whirlwind inside me

When I went to China, I asked several people that I thought might have some thoughts on a perplexing question I’ve had since I have been training in internal martial arts.

Every teacher I have ever had in internal arts has cautioned with me with a bit of Classic Chinese Medical advice:

“Do not practice standing training, tai chi, hsing yi, ba gua zhang, or chi gung in high wind. Otherwise you may come down with ‘Wind Sickness’ that will basically screw-up your chi field for awhile.”

I have always admired and respected and followed quite a bit of Traditional Chinese Medicine because it has often worked so amazingly well for me. Over the years I have contracted all kinds of issues, from depression, to soft tissue pains, to spinal damage. I have managed to fix most of them either completely, or I maintain them from getting worse as I get older.

I wanted to understand Wind Sickness in order to cure myself of it, to add that to my resume as a chinese energy art practictioner, so I deliberately broke the rules. I train near high wind, windy and foggy, or windy and cold weather all the time. I have spent hours upon hours doing all kinds of energy work on the beach, especially.

After years of failing to contract Wind Sickness, I conclude that my spiraling energy body wards off Wind Chi, and either protects me from Wind Sickness, or I am immune because I already have a windy chi vortex spiraling around inside.

About Jane

Ms. Alexander. author, activist, artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I have a whirlwind inside me

  1. dhyvd says:

    Makes sense… “thrusting belt” is really supposed to spin around the central channel, and eventually your whole body becomes encased in a sphere or hemisphere of golden (metal) chi, but most people don’t practice as intensely as you do, so the precautions are more for part-time dabblers than serious practitioners. In some Capoeira schools, for example, they do no warm-up exercises because “Capoeira is life” and you’re supposed to be always ready. By if someone is only doing it twice a week, we would do warm-ups in class for the obvious reasons that they’re just a part-timer.

    • Jane says:

      Sorry I missed your comment. Only so much time in the day. I almost never do warmups. All my recent demo videos of taiji on vimeo, are done, first pass, my first yilu of the day, rather than, warm up, do a few, and video-capture the fourth or sixth one, after all my parts are warmed up. I can get out of bed in the morning, promptly walk outside, and start either the Feng, or the Hong Yilu, at full speed. As long as I keep training like this, I should always be able to move like I do, without an hour of warmups

      • dhyvd says:

        Thanks for the reply, and no worries, I was unexpectedly off of this website for a while anyhow, so just catching up again.

Leave a Reply

